Product Review : TriBeCa Coffee


I visted the TriBeCa Coffee Company Factory. The site chosen was one of the higher-lying areas in the Highway Business Park which lies north of the bridge where the old Johannesburg-Pretoria road crosses the N1 highway.

The TriBeCa Coffee Company was founded by Martin Fitzgerald and Dale Mazon, who met in Mazon’s small coffee shop in the central business district of Pretoria in 1996. From these modest beginnings, the friends wrote the TriBeCa success story, bravely following their pioneering spirit as businessmen. The company’s unmistakable identity and warm, playful character has grown from the duo’s natural flair as restauranteurs. Today the brand lives as a large scale, state-of-the-art coffee roastery and a countrywide network of fifty-five cafés, employing more than a thousand people. Steering TriBeCa in an unorthodox and passionate way, Mazon and Fitzgerald have built a business that is as bold, adventurous and sophisticated as the fresh flavours that abound in their trendy cafés.

They showed me around the factory and showed me all the machines that roast the green beans they import from all over the world into fresh roasted coffee beans. There are so many machines in there that cost over 7Million wow!

After the factory tour we went to the lab where they taught me how to taste coffee and the different types of coffee aroma. it was really great, I learned alot!

Then they introduced me to Ben, He was going to make coffee for me, first he told me about his life as a bar man and then how he started making coffee aand he told me about his love for coffee. wow the people who work there actually L.O.V.E their jobs. it was the first time i met someone who works at a factory and actually love’s working there. Ben taught me how to make an exprresso and he also made a cappuccino for me.

I also spoke to  Martin, one of the owners; he’s advice to a young entrepreneur is “Work Hard and Save ALL your money”. He said to me “If you dont need it, dont spend money on it” <- Interesting neh.

Things I Learned:

  • Coffee is the second most used product in the world.
  • Coffee beans only grow in the exact intensity of sun, exact amount of rain, exact shade, and exact climate. It can take up to 3-5 years for a coffee plant to produce the berries.

I learned alot from the people at TriBeCa and I’d like to thank them for allowing me to come and visit their factorY. They even gave me some of their coffee beans to take home.

I rate the product : 5 out of 5.

You can get their coffee at the original TriBeCa Café situated within walking distance of historic Church Square in Pretoria ‘s central business district. Since 1996 it has been a favorite gathering place of the law and business set based in the administrative capital and the interior offers an interesting glimpse of recent South African history. The café serves breakfast, lunch and beverages from 7h00 to 17h00 on week days – phone +27 (0) 12 321 8876 at 220 Vermeulen Street or From Woolworths.

One thought on “Product Review : TriBeCa Coffee

  1. I love the advice that guy gave you. He sounds like an experienced business owner.
    I know Tribeca coffee, its that woolworths coffee with white, green, brown and blue packaging. But its expensive

Leave a Reply

