MTN SAMA 19 Nominees

The #MTNSAMA19 nominees were announced on Wednesday, 20 March in Newtown , Johannesburg. The nominees are:

Best Rock Album
•Arno Carstens : Atari Gala
•Desmond & The Tutus : MNUSIC
•Prime Circle : Evidence
•The Plastics : Pyramid
•Zebra & Giraffe : The Wisest Ones

Album of the Year
•Kelly Khumalo : The Past, The Present, The Future
•Khuli Chana : Lost in Time
•Maleh : Step Child
•Ntokozo Mbambo : Filled
•The Muffinz : Have you Heard?

Duo or Group of the Year
•BlackByrd : Strong
•Desmond & The Tutus : MNUSIC
•DJ Vetkuk Vs Mahoota : Dinaledi
•Freshlyground : Take Me to the Dance
•The Muffinz : Have you Heard?

Female Artist of the Year
•ChianoSky : Hungry
•Kelly Khumalo : The Past, The Present, The Future
•Lulu Dikana : This is the Life
•Maleh : Step Child
•Ntokozo Mbambo : Filled

Male Artist of the Year
•Arno Carstens : Atari Gala
•Elvis Blue : Journey
•Khuli Chana : Lost in Time
•ProVerb : Fourthwrite
•Reason : Audio3D

Newcomer of the Year
•Bongeziwe Mabandla : Umlilo
•Khaya : For You
•Tailor : The Dark Horse
•The Muffinz : Have you Heard?
•Toya Delazy : Due Drop Deluxe

Best Pop Album
•ChianoSky : Hungry
•Kurt Darren : In Jou Oë
•Lloyd Cele : No Limits
•Snotkop: Oppas
•Toya Delazy : Due Drop Deluxe

Best Adult Contemporary Album
•BlackByrd : Strong
•Elvis Blue : Journey
•Freshlyground : Take Me to the Dance
•Lira : The Captured Tour Concert Film
•Nianell : My Heart

Best Kontemporêre Musiek
•Bobby Van Jaarsveld : Wat Geld Nie Kan Koop Nie
•Jay & Lianie : Bonnie En Clyde
•Juanita du Plessis : Jy Voltooi My
•Romanz : Hou Vas
•Theuns Jordaan : Roeper

Best African Adult Album
•Bongeziwe Mabandla : Umlilo
•Cama Gwini : Re-Birth
•Kelly Khumalo : The Past, The Present, The Future
•Maleh : Step Child
•Nomfusi : Take Me Home

Best Alternative Album
•Bittereinder : Die Dinkdansmasjien
•Fetish : Little Heart
•iScream & The Chocolate Stix : The Paradox
•Tailor : The Dark Horse
•Yoav : Blood Vine

Best R&B / Soul / Reggae Album
•Kabomo : Memory Remains
•Khaya : For You
•Lulu Dikana : This is the Life
•The Muffinz : Have you Heard?
•Zaki Ibrahim : Every Opposite

Best Rap Album
•Khuli Chana : Lost in Time
•Last Days Fam : Eternal Effect
•PRO : Continua
•ProVerb: Fourthwrite
•Reason : Audio3D

Best Kwaito Album
•Bhar : Morning Bang
•Kabelo : Immortal Vol. 2
•L’Vovo Derrango : The Headmaster
•Professor : The Orientation
•Teddybears : Teddybears

Best Dance Album
•Black Coffee : Africa Rising
•DJ Pepsi : Royal House Collection Vol. 2
•DJ Vetkuk Vs Mahoota : Dinaledi
•Oskido : I Believe
•Pascal & Pearce : Passport 2.0

Best Traditional Faith Music Album
•Hlengiwe Mhlaba : Abba Baba
•Rebecca : Live in Concert
•Thulile Mbili : My Home-Heaven Spirit Of Praise Vol. 4
•Winnie Mashaba :Bophelo Ke Leeto

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album
•Jonathan Butler : Grace and Mercy
•Retief Burger, Helmut Meijer, Neil Büchner, Louis Britz : In Verwondering
•Loyiso : Love Complete
•Ntokozo Mbambo :Filled
•Retief Burger : Luidkeels Dieper

Best Traditional Album
•George Maluleke : Magolongwani
•Shabalala Rhythm : Please Call Me
•Soul Brothers : Siphithiphithi
•Dr. Thomas Chauke – Na Shinyori Sisters : Shimatsatsa No. 31
•Zozo & Sangere Superbeat : Mabindu Vol 14

Best Maskandi Album
•Ichwane Lebhaca : Inkunzi Yomthakathi
•Imithente : Vuka Mathambo
•Ntombethongo : Thokozile
•Phuzekhemisi : Bayede Zulu
•Zero Khumalo : O Sugar Daddy

Best Jazz Album
•Herbie Tsoaeli : African Time
•Kyle Shepherd : South African History !X
•Lindiwe Maxolo : Time
•Steve Dyer :Ubuntu Music
•Tutu Puoane :Breathe

Best Classic & Instrumental Album
•Maria du Toit & Nina Schumann : Luminous Shade
•CH2 : CH 2 Guitar Duo Live with the UP Symphony Orchestra
•Derek Gripper : One Night On Earth
•Guy Buttery : To Disappear In Place
•Nibs van der Spuy & Guy Buttery : In The Shade of the Wild Fig

Best Live DVD
•Black Coffee : Africa Rising
•Lira : The Captured Tour Concert Film
•The Parlotones : Dragonflies and Astronauts
•Huisgenoot Skouspel : Huisgenoot Skouspel 2012
•Zahara : The Beginning LIVE

Best Collaboration
•Lloyd Cele Feat. Fresh, Euphonik & Slikour : Louder!
•Riot Feat. Zahara : Thetha Nami
•Shabalala Rhythm Feat. Oliver Mtukudzi and DJ Tira : Please Call Me
•V.Underground Feat. Mishka : Gelo Wandi
•Zahara Feat. Leroy Bell & Soweto Gospel Choir : Hold On (Bambelela)

Best Music Video of the Year
•Benza : AKA – Jealousy
•Salomon Ligthelm : Gangs Of Ballet -Hello Sweet World
•Warwick Allan : Prime Circle – Evidence
•Jolyon Ellis : Spoonfeedas -Attack Of The Hadedas
•Claudio Pavan : The Parlotones -Honey Spiders

Best Producer
•Mark Beling : BlackByrd – Strong
•Crighton Goodwill : ChianoSky – Hungry
•Theo Crous : Prime Circle – Evidence
•Theo Crous : The Parlotones – Journey Through The Shadows
•Jax Panik : Toya Delazy – Due Drop Deluxe

Best Engineer
•Christopher Tuck : Macstanley – Lucid Alive And Dreaming
•Mark Beling : BlackByrd – Strong
•Crighton Goodwill : ChianoSky -Hungry
•Jake Odendaal : Joe Niemand – Night of Light Die Beste Van Joe Niemand
•Marius Marais : Huisgenoot Skouspel 2012

Remix of the Year
•Zynne Sibika : DJ Vetkuk Vs Mahoota – Istokvel
•Chris Sen : RJ Benjamin – 2012 Change The World
•DJ Kent : Theo Kgosinkwe – Thinking About You Ft. Zonke – DJ Kent Remix
•Pascal & Pearce : Toya Delazy -Heart – Pascal & Pearce Remix
•ClassyMenace : Toya Delazy- Pump It On – Classy Menace Remix

MTN Record of the Year:
•B.O.P : Wa Muhle
•Black Motion : Father To Be
•ChianoSky : Walking Away
•DJ Vetkuk Vs Mahoota : Stokvel
•DJ Zinhle : My Name Is
•Donald : I Deserve
•Elvis Blue : Lifeline
•HHP : Bosso
•Kabomo : Colour of You
•Khaya : Move
•LiquiDeep : Still
•Lloyd Cele : Hero
•MiCasa : Heavenly Sent
•Oskido : Tsa Mandebele
•Riot : Thetha Nami
•Sfiso Ncwane : Kulungile Baba
•Teargas : Wake Up
•Toya Delazy : Love Is In The Air
•Zahara : Umthwalo
•Zonke : Feelings

The MTN Record of the Year category is the only category in the MTN SAMAs where the winner is decided by the public through SMS votes. The public are given a list of 20 nominees comprising of artists, duos or groups that dominated the airwaves in 2012, which is based on the number of times a track was played across South African radio stations.
•SMS voting lines opened on 20 March at 13h00 and close on the 9th May at 20h00. The final five (5) nominees will then be determined and voting lines will re-open on the 10th May at 08h00 and the winner will be announced during the live broadcast of the MTN SAMA 19 Awards on SABC 1 after an audit process on the 11th May.

The #MTNSAMA19 are on the 10 & 11 May 2012 at Sun City sponsored by Amstel.

Congratulations to these nominees!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s